To expand on the authority given by the legislature in the Board's Practice Act, the Board may promulgate the following rule types: Emergency, Proposed, or Filed.
Emergency rules, once approved, are valid for 120 days. Proposed rules, once approved, are posted for a 45 day public comment period. Filed rules, once approved, have gone through the public comment period and are the current rules in effect for the Board and licensees.
EMERGENCY RULES AND REGULATIONS
Notice is hereby given that the Wyoming Board of Dental Examiners has submitted emergency rule changes to Chapters 5 and 10 in order to address urgent concerns to the operating dentist sedation application permit. These went into effect on December 5, 2016. Emergency Rules are valid for 120 days and can be renewed 1 time. The initial emergency rule set expired April 4, 2017 and have been renewed for another 120 days until August 5, 2017.
PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS
Public notice is hereby given that the Wyoming Board of Dental Examiners intends to amend their rules. These rules and regulations are to be adopted in order to implement the authority of the Wyoming Board of Dental Examiners to regulate the qualifications and standards of performance of persons practicing dentistry in Wyoming and to provide for enforcement and proper administration of the provisions of the Wyoming Dental Practice Act.
Notice of the proposed rules was published in the Casper Star Tribune as required by Wyoming law on April 10, 2017. Additionally, notice was emailed to licensees and permit holders on April 13, 2017. Postcard notices are also being mailed to licensees and permit holders on April 14, 2017. The formal 45 day public comment period runs April 17 through June 2.
Amended Rules for Proposal
Chapters 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, and 10 are being amended. The proposed amendments will update definitions, formatting, and grammar as well as add or clarify regulations for infection prevention, public records requests, life support training for sedation permit holders, operating dentist sedation permit application requirements, sedation permit renewal requirements, dental hygiene public health services, and disciplinary procedures. Finally the proposed amendments will add fees for dental assistant pit and fissure applications and dental hygiene expanded function applications and reduce the dentist and hygienist non-clinical application and renewal fees.
Proposed Strike and Underscore Rules by Chapter:
Request for Public Comment
The Board welcomes all comments and suggestions on these proposed rule amendments. Comments must be received in the Board office by June 2, 2017 to be considered. Comments can be emailed to email@example.com with the subject line RULES COMMENTS or mailed to Board of Dental Examiners, 2001 Capitol Ave, Room 104, Cheyenne, WY 82001. Any individual who comments on the rules may request that the Board provide a statement of principal reasons for overruling the individual's comments. If requested, the statement will be issued either prior to or within thirty (30) days after the Board's action.
Requests for Public Hearings
A public hearing will be held by the Wyoming Board of Dental Examiners if requested by twenty-five (25) persons, by a governmental subdivision, or by an association having not less than twenty-five (25) members. Requests for a hearing should be directed to the agency at the above address by the date specified above. Notice of the hearing will be provided to all persons making a timely request therefor.
FILED RULES AND REGULATIONS
Promulgated by authority under the Dental Practice Act W.S. 33-15-101 through W.S. 33-15-133.
Rules and Regulations filed November 3, 2015
As referenced in Chapter 1, you can find the following incorporated materials:
The Board's Rules and Practice Act have been listed above for your ease and convenience. To obtain these materials directly from their source:
Board Info >